Video: Kanye West – “Good Life” Feat. T-Pain

11 09 2007

 

Kanye West – “Good Life” Feat. T-Pain

You know what? If you want to shut me up, show and prove LOL. And he did with this joint.

This is by far the most creative video I’ve seen debut on 106 and Park in a month of Sundays and DESPITE the fact that I can’t stand T-Pain with every big bone in my body, I am in like with this song. Or as Kanye says, “Me likey.” I’ve been jammin’ this song for a while, so I was glad to see the video for it today on 106. My favorite part of this song is where he ends those lines in the second verse with “sorry,” “ferrari,” and “Lawry’s.” LOVE IT! HAHAHA!

HOWEVER, Kanye is a fool. Ya’ll remember when he ran on-stage in his first rant at the European VMA Awards? Well, he was mad because Justice, a dance/electronica music group won the award for video of the year that he felt he was supposed to win.

Guess what? The “Gotcha Gotcha!” is that Kanye used the same director who produced the video that beat him (for their hit song “D.A.N.C.E.”) to direct this video.

HAHAHAHA, Kanye. WOW! Some would call that smart and shrewd, others would call that dirty game. Well, if you want to win the best video, steal the best video’s directors!

Well, I like it anyway. But mostly because I liked their direction and their take on his song. And somehow, Kanye reigned in the vocal terror of T-Pain to tolerable levels. It’s all in the vocal mix LOL, T-Pain doesn’t take precedence over the person he’s featured on the track, he’s not prominent in the mix, and he’s not just OVERDOING all the faux harmony and ish.

So on that fact alone, I give Kanye 5 points. He gets -2.5 points for stealing the people who beat him video director though LOL. He gets -.5 points for still rocking them parts in his head. And he gets +3 points on lyricism, and +3 points for originality in a hip-hop video since Gnarls Barkley’s “Crazy”. He gets another +2 points for trying to change up the video formula (aka naked video hoes!). He just had one! -1 point because her tittay-balls were playing volleyball with each other (not that I’m complaining *cough*). But he gets +1 because he looked good and his airbrushing/style were on point.

Posted by the IPS


Actions

Information

24 responses

11 09 2007
TINA

WHO DO YOU LIKE?…YOU DONT LIKE ANYBODY IT SEEM. OH YEAH I FORGOT THIS BLOG IS JUST UP TO TALK BAD ON EVERYBODY..I HOPE YOU CAN SLEEP AT NIGHT. OH YEAH I FORGOT YOUR GETTING PAID….THE ALMIGHTY DOLLAR MAKES PEOPLE COMPROMISE THEMSELVES ALL THE TIME..I HOPE YOU SAY YOUR PRAYERS AT NIGHT…

11 09 2007
The IPS

CAN YOU READ

I SAID I LIKED THIS SONG

I SAID I LIKED THE VIDEO

Reading Is Fundamental.

I SWEAR ya’ll gonna drive me out of my mind!!

And I am NOT getting paid for this. I do this for free. Compromise?! COMPROMISE WOULD BE ME LIKING EVERYTHING.

Just because I have discriminating tastes and prefer my music non-phased and clipping doesn’t mean I’m a hater.

Go sit on a d*ck and twirl. Seriously!!!

12 09 2007
grownANDsexy

“Go sit on a d*ck and twirl. Seriously!!!”
Some people like that… no homo

lol

I like this video. I don’t think the song is great, but its good enough and its pretty upbeat.

With all the technology out there, you would think more people would make videos like this. But I guess when you being gansta, you can’t do stuff like that.

12 09 2007
msantina

I saw this video last night!!! I love it!! This song and video is gonna make people go and cop the album! I almost put a foot through my wall jukin to that ish. Dead @“Go sit on a d*ck and twirl. Seriously!!!” This is the week of the retards.

12 09 2007
silkyjumbo

i think getting the same director is genius. i love kanye – he’s a creative cat – but he tends to bite his styles. i mean, i usually enjoy who he’s lifting from (you like madonna’s “frozen” video? then watch my “can’t tell me nothin”!), and he still manages to make it his own, but…he borrows. that’s all i’m saying.

12 09 2007
Voo

LMAO @ “he still manages to make it his own, but…he borrows. that’s all i’m saying.”

Kanye is a Borrower LOL Too funny!!!

12 09 2007
r-ev.net | Noticias

[…] Viene y le pide a los mismos directores “Jonas&François“, Que le produscan su NUEVO video “Good Life fet. T-Pain”… Y porcia las moscas, un mini review de los VMA07. […]

12 09 2007
SHAMEL_NYC

Kanye nailed it with this one and the album! This has to be one of the most artistic videos to come out in a while. He even made T-Pain bearable in this one and I was starting to get sick of dude. Say what you want YE is a musical
genius, production is always tight and dares to push the envelope. Step
your game up people…

12 09 2007
beau+++

FYI – Justice didn’t win for D.A.N.C.E, they won for Justice vs. Simian Mobile Disco – We Are Your Friends. D.A.N.C.E came a few months later. We Are Your Friends isn’t the video – or the director – that beat him.

The only similarity is that the director has worked on videos for both, but it wasn’t a deliberate move on Kanye’s part to scoop up the director that beat him – since he is yet to work with that director.

12 09 2007
beau+++

whoops, i messed that up. I meant to say:

FYI – Justice didn’t win for D.A.N.C.E, they won for Justice vs. Simian Mobile Disco – We Are Your Friends. D.A.N.C.E came a few months later. D.A.N.C.E. isn’t the video – or the director – that beat him.

The only similarity is that the director has worked on videos for both, but it wasn’t a deliberate move on Kanye’s part to scoop up the director that beat him – since he is yet to work with that director.

12 09 2007
The IPS

^^^^ You are right, so right. I tied that together ALL wrong ROFL.

12 09 2007
Sydney's Momma

I LOVE this video and this song!!! T-Pain is actually singing and not using the F**kin voice box!!! What I love about Kanye (musically that is, as man he’s a bit childish) is that he’s not afraid to try something new. And he’s usually on point when he takes chances musically.

I just found your blog and I love it!

12 09 2007
Kendra

I love this song and video…
I’m really interested in knowing…
how his next video will top this…
but i also love his big brother song…
and will be awaiting the arrival of that video…
although arrogant and cocky…
he is one of the most talented cats in the hip-hop industry…

12 09 2007
Foxxy

I like it … very nice video… I really like the P.Y.T sample… You have to listen to hear it!! IPS got the shield up…Lol!!

12 09 2007
Foxxy

After watching again I really, really like … Did anyone peep that he said “50 told me
go head and switch them styles up
and if they hate then let them hate
and watch the money pile up” I thought it was funny with the album battle and all… Maybe 50 should have taken his own advice!!

12 09 2007
unrequitedlovesong

Kanye West- A college dropout who throws fits when MTV doesn’t throw him a bone. Poor baby.

12 09 2007
The IPS

^^ Is that a PYT sample? I don’t think it is.

OMG WAIT

You right! I think it is! I never even heard that.

12 09 2007
Foxxy

Yeah … probably didn’t hear the sample… because your brain prepare to drown/block out noise… as soon as you heard/read T-Pain… was on the track too… it’s okay mine does that too…lol!!!

15 09 2007
Liv

^^ LOL! Yeah, sometimes you just do it subconsciously.

I like this though. Different sound, but that’s good, not the same ole same ole.

17 09 2007
piper

YO,YO,YO,THIS SONG IS THE SHIT AND I LUV IT GO NORTH STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

17 09 2007
piper

YO,YO, THIS SONG IS THE SHIT GO NORTH STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

26 09 2007
bianca williams

MAN KANYE SPEAKING THE TRUTH AND YOU GOTTA REALIZE THAT DA SOUTH AINT NUUTIN BUT DA TRUTH NE WAY OR ATLEAT COLUMBUS GA IS SO WEN YALL NIGGAA GET TO BE 1000 LIKE ME THEN YALL TALK 2 ME OTHA THEN THAT KEEP BEING 100 AND KANYE DOING HIS THANG AND HELPING ME BE 1000 HOOLA GET MONEY WIMPS!!!!!!!!!111

3 10 2007
DD

MAN KANYE GOOD JOB

12 10 2007
Pat

I LOVE THIS SONG SO MUCH!!!! KANYE IS SO SEXIIIIIIIII!!!1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

